Crystals and the Chakra System

chakrasystemThe Chakra System

  1. The word chakra comes from the word Chakrum, meaning Wheel in Sanskrit.
  2. Chakras are energy centres running down the centre of the body, often seen as spinning wheels of light.
  3. Each chakra is identified by its own individual colour.
  4. If each energy centre is spinning perfectly and all are in alignment (see pic above), you are healthy, whole and complete!
  5. Crystals of a particular colour can be matched to the appropriately coloured chakra in order to energise, open, cleanse, balance and align the energy centre.
  6. Please note there are exceptions to every rule – always trust your own instincts :o)

As a very general rule, we can look at a crystal, examine its colour and attribute it to one of the Chakras. However, the energy of the world we live in is changing….therefore, what crystals do is changing and the books that are being released now aren’t keeping up fast enough.

I would therefore always advise to use your own intuition. A crystal may be blue, but if you’re feeling it at your feet, then thats where it is carrying out its work, not at the throat. And thats OK ~ its all part of the fun journey with crystals. Many of us use them differently and feel things differently, its why crystals are such a passion of mine ~ its a never ending adventure and path of discovery. The below is a very general guide.

Basic Chakra Interpretations & Associated Colours

1st Chakra: Base Chakra

black_tourmaline-2This chakra symbolises security & stability. If we have illness in this area, it can point to an issue regarding our financial or physical security & wellbeing. Many people put their back out when moving house for example or suffer back pains when there is financial instability.

Colour: Red or Black

Crystals: Black Tourmaline, Black Kyanite or Hematite. Each of these crystals has a very different type of grounding energy. If they are too strong, Red Jasper is a gentle, yet effective grounding tool and the better recommendation for sensitive people.

2nd Chakra: Sacral Chakra

CarnelianThis chakra symbolises sexuality, passion & creativity. If we have illness in this area, it can point to an issue regarding our intimate physical relationships or blocks in our creative flow.

Colour: Orange

Crystals: Carnelian. Carnelian is the best crystal for this chakra as it addresses the areas of passion, creativity & sexuality. Carnelian is also excellent for family relationships.

3rd Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra

Untitled-1This chakra symbolises our sense of self. If we have illness in this area, it can point to an issue regarding willpower, confidence, self-esteem or

Colour: Yellow

Crystals: Citrine. Citrine brings you what you need, not necessarily what you want. It gives courage, determination, raises self-esteem and brings in joy/abundance. There isn’t a better crystal around for making one feel better about one’s self.

4th Chakra: Heart Chakra

Untitled-1This chakra symbolises our emotional selves. If we have illness in this area, it can point to issues regarding lack of love, suppressed emotions, worry and guilt.

Colour: Green or Pink

Crystals: Malachite has a strong energy and is good for releasing emotion. Rose Quartz is a gentle, soothing crystal for the emotions. Kunzite is stronger than Rose Qtz and better used where one has suffered recent emotional pain as it stops the heart chakra from closing down.

5th Chakra: Throat Chakra

Untitled-1This chakra symbolises our communication skills. If we have illness in this area, it can point to issues regarding our talking too much and forcing our opinion on others or not expressing what we honestly think/feel.

Colour: Blue

Crystals: Blue Kyanite encourages us to be honest & speak the truth. Blue Lace Agate gives us courage to say what we truly think/feel. Lapis Lazuli & turquoise calm overactive speakers so their communication becomes slower & more accurate.

6th Chakra: Third-Eye Chakra

Untitled-1This chakra symbolises our intuition and personal spiritual insight. If we have illness in this area, it can point to blocks in our ability to receive insight or we could be being too open/connected and need to slow things down a little.

Colour: Purple

Crystals: Amethyst or Sugilite. Amethyst is very gentle and will open this chakra slowly, cleanse and absorb negativity. Sugilite is a much stronger crystal, which can take you one on journeys whilst sleeping/meditating and will ensure the spiritual path is walked in truth.

7th Chakra: Higher-Self Chakra

Untitled-1This chakra symbolises connection to our Higher Self or Inner Spirit. There are unlikely to be illnesses in this area as it is above our heads. However, clues to this chakra experiencing problems are an overall feeling of malaise on all levels: physical, emotional, psychological and spiritual or a feeling of being ‘disconnected’.

Colour: Clear or White

Crystals: Clear Quartz is gentle and always recommended as the first crystal to use in layouts or when first working with this chakra. Herkimer Diamonds are powerful and facilitate spiritual travel, but get used to using clear quartz first before moving on to anything more powerful as this chakra can affect our entire selves, not just one specific area.


  1. […] normal state. Most of us are taught to work on a physical level and with the Chakra System. Click Here if you would like to read more about Crystals & The Chakra […]

  2. […] Crystals and the Chakra System […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.